Info about lactose & gluten

The lactose content of cheeses in general depends on the production method and the period of maturation. In the case of a semi-hard cheeses, such as raclette, the lactose content is already reduced significantly during the coagulation of milk and the pressing of the curd, because lactose is contained in the liquid part (whey). During the subsequent maturation, lactic acid bacteria degrade the rest of lactose. After three months of maturing, lactose is fully decomposed. According to the criteria of the Swiss Ordinance on Special Foods, raclette cheese is then considered lactose-free.

Regarding gluten, no grain containing ingredients or auxiliary equipment is used during the manufacturing process. Raclette cheese is also gluten-free.

Sources: Swissmilk

 

 

 

Back to overview